Logo



New Motion

BUCHEN Telefon: 03394 - 400 46Tel.: 03394 - 400 46

Wittstock & Ostprignitz

Wittstock an der Dosse is one of the oldest cities in Brandenburg. It originated from a Slavic settlement. In the year 946, it was first mentioned in the deed of foundation of the diocese of Havelberg. The Wittstocker castle served the bishops of Havelberg as a residence and is therefore called the Old Bishop's Castle (dt. Alte Bischofsburg).
During the Thirty Years' War, in 1636 the Swedish prevailed over the imperial electoral Saxon army in the Battle of Wittstock at Scharfenberg. The Museum of the Thirty Years' War is located in the Bishop's Castle.
The historic old town also has a magnificent city hall, an almost completely preserved brick city wall, elaborately renovated timbered houses and much more to offer. Our Hotel am Dosseteich (hotel by the Dosse pond) is located directly at the Röbler Thor by the historic city wall. From here you can explore the city by foot!

The landscape of Ostprignitz surrounding Wittstock is characterized by fields and forests as well as by a huge heath called the Kyritz - Ruppiner Heide. Only 20 kilometers away from Wittstock / Dosse begin the Rheinberger Chain of Lakes and the Mecklenburg Lake District. Wittstock is a very good starting point for trips to Kloster Stift Heiligengrabe, to the Archaeological Park in Freyenstein, to the Fashion Museum Schloss Meyenburg or to the Rheinberger Castle.
A day trip to Fontane City Neuruppin should definitely be on your program, too.

Logo



New Motion

BUCHEN Telefon: 03394 - 400 46Tel.: 03394 - 400 46

Wittstock & die Ostprignitz

Wittstock an der Dosse ist eine der ältesten Städte Brandenburgs. Es entstand aus einer slawischen Siedlung. 946 wurde es in der Stiftungsurkunde für das Bistum Havelberg erstmals erwähnt. Die Wittstocker Burg diente den Bischöfen von Havelberg als Wohnsitz und wird daher als Alte Bischofsburg bezeichnet.
Im Dreißigjährigen Krieg siegten 1636 die Schweden in der Schlacht bei Wittstock am Scharfenberg über das kaiserlich-kursächsische Heer. Das Museum des Dreißigjährigen Krieges ist in der Bischofsburg beheimatet.
Die historische Altstadt hat auch ein prächtiges Rathaus, eine nahezu vollständig erhaltene Backsteinstadtmauer, aufwendig sanierte Fachwerkhäuser und vieles mehr zu bieten.
Unser Hotel am Dosseteich liegt direkt am Röbler Thor an der historischen Stadtmauer. Von hier aus können Sie die Altstadt bequem zu Fuß erkunden!

Rund um Wittstock prägen Felder und Wälder die Landschaft der Ostprignitz. Mit der Kyritz-Ruppiner Heide ist hier auch eine riesige Heidelandschaft zu finden. Nur 20 Kilometer von Wittstock/Dosse entfernt beginnen die Rheinberger Seenkette und die Mecklenburgische Seenplatte. Wittstock ist ein sehr guter Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge zum Kloster Stift Heiligengrabe, zum Archäologischen Park in Freyenstein, zum Modemuseum Schloss Meyenburg oder zum Rheinsberger Schloss.
Auch ein Tagesausflug in die Fontanestadt Neuruppin sollte unbedingt auf Ihrem Programm stehen.